Most people tend to steer away from cheese if they are lactose intolerant, but let me tell you a little something. Cheese does not contain lactose. If you have a milk allergy, then yes, I’m sorry. Cheese shall not be a part of your life. BUT! There is no danger in cheese from lactose.
The cheese making process magically turns sugar (in this case milk sugar, aka lactose) into lactic acid, which is something entirely different and no longer a threat to people with sensitivities. The longer the milk is left to sour (a process called acidification), the more time the lactose has to dissipate. Drier, harder cheeses are therefore the safest to eat, while the fresh cheeses with a higher moisture content may retain a small amount of lactose due to the shorter acidification process.
If you do have problems with cheese, most likely you have a milk allergy. But if lactose is what your body doesn’t like, cheese it up! No need to deprive yourself of such wonderful joy in life!